2017 Reading List

So, I–

Muse:  Where the hell have you been?

Briefly, I’ve been busy.

Muse:  Yeah, well, you should have called.

You know, I did write three short stories since I was last here and knock out several chapters in my novel-in-progress.  It’s not like I have been sitting on my ass, popping grapes in my mouth while native girls fan me with palm fronds.

Muse:  You’d like that waaaaay too much.

No question.

Anyway, I put together my reading list for this next year.  I have some some big names, some stuff released this last year, and some old stuff (and yeah, I cheated, there are a pair of re-reads on here, from books I read a long time ago, but have wanted to read again).  Some of the older ones are things I have wanted to read for a while and keep procrastinating.  This should force my hand.

I also picked out a handful of lesser-known authors, most of whom I personally interact with, have interacted with, or who have given me some good advice.

Anyway, I have everything already purchased, downloaded on my Kindle, and ready to go come Jan 1.  The plan is to knock one out every three weeks at a minimum (which gives me some leeway should life crop up, like it always does).  I’ll also try to leave some reviews on Amazon and Goodreads.  If I like a book and it is part of a series, I will probably toss the next ones on my next list.  Anyway, in no particular order, here is who I got:

Grace of Kings, by Ken Liu

Beasts of Tabat, by Cat Rambo

Lonen’s War:  Sorcerous Moons, by Jeffe Kennefy

The Blade Itself, by Joe Abercrombie (re-read #1)

Elantris, by Brandon Sanderson

Thousand Names, by Django Wexler

Dawn, by Octavia Butler

Blood Song, by Anthony Ryan

Darker Shade of Magic, by V. E. Schwab

Queen of Blood, by Sarah Beth Durst

Assassin’s Apprentice, by Robin Hobb (re-read #2)

Flashback:  Siren Song, by J.A. Hunter

Forced Labor (Arekan’s War), by B.R. Turnage

Cog and the Steel Tower, by W.E. Larson

Magic of Thieves, by Carol Greenwood

At An Uncertain Hour, by Nyki Blatchley

Aerisia:  Land Beyond the Sunset, Sarah Ashwood

Not sure what I will start with.  Maybe I will pull names from a hat.

Leave a Reply

