Excerpt from Pilgrimage to Skara

Shameless plug for the book, along with a quick excerpt:

* * * * * * *

Keilie shivered.  “I’m frightened.”

“Me too.”

“I should have stayed in Hightown.”

“Maybe.  But what’s done is done.  If we escape these woods, do you want me to take you home?”  She did not answer.  Wendt said, “There is no shame, you know.  Many of those who receive a favorable aura reading never leave Collum to pursue it.”

“When I asked my mother if I should refuse to go, she told me, “Who dares, wins.’   She wouldn’t explain that.”

Wendt nodded.  “That sounds like something she’d say.”

“Do you know what it means?

“It’s an ancient saying, from the old empires.  It means that those who take the greatest risks win the greatest rewards.  Or die trying.”  Wendt shifted a little.  “Your mother is nothing if not a risk-taker.”

* * * * * * *

Link to the Kindle version right here!

(This might have double-posted on my Facebook account, which has been aggravating the daylights out of me lately.)

Leave a Reply

