NaNoWriMo 2013 – Week 1 Update

So….

I am one week into NaNoWriMo and I am maintaining a good pace.  As one could expect, the story is proceeding somewhat different than I first outlined.  I already deviated from the crumpled parchment I mentioned last time, and yes, I already caught hell for it from a friend.

(Muse:  You have friends?)

I treat NaNoWriMo somewhat as a stream-of-consciousness exercise.  Get the words on paper and worry about making it better later on.  This one – this whole story – could very well be workable but I can tell it is going to take some horsing to get it into eventual shape.  The good news is I feel like the first 14K words unfolded without any trouble, and I have a very long way – maybe 2-3 more books worth – to get to the end.  Anyway, here's progress:

Nov 1:  1708 words
Nov 2:  2886 words
Nov 3:  2284 words
Nov 4:  2102 words
Nov 5:  1708 words
Nov 6:  1787 words
Nov 7:  1776 words

Week one total:  14251 words, or just over 2K words a day.

At this rate, I am on schedule to get over 50K by 25 Nov.  So far, so good.

Leave a Reply

