NaNoWriMo 2013 – Prologue

So….

As mentioned recently (yesterday), I am ready to do NaNoWriMo this year.  I have an idea for a more straight-up fantasy.  My first two few books haven't been very traditional sword and sorcery.  I'd call one kind of dystopian fantasy, the other low fantasy, or science-fantasy (maybe even soft science-fiction).  Mrs. Axe, ever the voice of encouragement, says I have it in me to write something massive and epic, along the lines of Game of Thrones.  I'm not saying I am George R. R. Martin's league, or even in his minor league, but the support and faith of my better half is nice.  So I am going to try it.

The story opens in the ruined countryside of Oberya, one of the "Seven Brothers," the seven countries that occupy the continent of Karsheh in a semi-confederacy – a land that has descended into chaos and strife.  Foul monsters stalk the land and rumors of a rumors of a vast evil clawing it's way back into the world darken every grim corner of the remaining bastions of civilization.  Our protagonist, a young man named Briard, returns from a futile service in a decimated army to find his farm abandoned and his family missing.  A tattered parchment in the wreckage gives him hope.

And we're off and running.  Based on one event that is kind of in my head, my working title is The Shattered Colossus.

I outlined my opening.  I know where I want this to end, whether it is in 50K words, or 500K words.  I have no idea what I am going to do in between points A and B.  So let's find out.

I'll update progress/word-count weekly.

Leave a Reply

