Short Term Goals – Jan 13

[Note:  I meant to post this on New Year's Day but my connection has been sporadic and annoying for the last few days.]

A year of possibilities

So here we are.  2013.  Amazing, it seems like the last one blitzed past like no tomorrow.  They say one's perception of time accelerates as one ages.  That, to me, is the foremost reason not to want to live forever; the days go fast enough already.

Like most folks, I have a whole raft of stuff I want to get done this year (AKA the dreaded "New Year's Resolutions"), including with my writing.  I don't want to list goals, since annual goals always seem to get diluted by the passage of weeks, until I get to October, and go, "Ah fuck, I didn't get anything done.  Once again, I have failed."  Instead, I will do my monthly goals again, as keeping the goal in viewable sight worked out pretty well.

2012 was an up and down year for me, as I did not get a ton of things accomplished.  I would like to blame being in the desert for a year, courtesy of Uncle Samuel, but it was more inertia and laziness.  There is that, though; today is the first day of my last full year in the US Air Force.  I should be retiring effective April of 2014.  That is intoxicating and terrifying all at once.

Anyway, on we go.  A new year beckons, rife with possibility, blah blah blah.  Onward!

Here are my goals for the month of January.  I am going to challenge myself a little:

– Complete two short stories.
– Submit six times.
– Complete 6K words in Pilgrimage to Skara.
– At least one blog entry a week.

Okay, we'll see how that shakes out.

Leave a Reply

