Short Term Goals – Oct 12

Okay, here I find myself yet again, with another inexcusable long absence.  Yes, the shame burns deep within my loins.

(Muse:  Are you sure that's shame?)

And yet I never need fear.  My Muse is always there to keep me in gear.  She is no shadowy presence in my mind, that whispers ideas and inspiration in my ear.  Rather, she is the salty part of my conscience, kicking and cajoling me through guilt, intimidation, and bullying me to get back to my writing.  As long as she is around, I never need fear giving up, because she will bring me back to it as long as she's around.

(Muse:  Never happen, Babe.  I'll be right here on your ass, like a dog on a bone.)

She's so much like my wife it's scary.

As I get caught up, I see I missed quite a bit.  I missed some contests and some writing challenges.  I missed opportunities to submit (too many of those).  I missed Steampunk Week over at Tor.com (curses!)  So what next?

I am still reading a ton, though not writing as much.  I have kept up with my 365-day journaling project and once I go back through and smooth out the raw data, I think it will a quirky, entertaining look at a day in the life of a military member so far from home, in book form.  I have written a short story or two and sketched out a whole bunch of ideas in my little red notebook … but sadly, I have failed to get anything else done – either in my novel, with submitting, or anything else.

I said it before:  I have to get back in the saddle.  I am on Day 217 of my trip over here and I do not want to wait another 148 days to start writing anything else.  Besides, Mrs. Axe would likely kill me.  I have to do something, so this is it.  Here are my short-term goals, to be revisited at the end of the month:

– Finish writing the story about the imp being thrown out of Hell (don't ask)
– Log 3K words in my novel
– Get four submissions done
– One journal post a week

Nothing impossible.  And I can hear the breathless whispers of the commentator:  does he have the fortitude to stick to the plan this time folks?  Good plan but I expect poor execution; he may have to settle for the bronze.

Ye – and we – shall see.

Leave a Reply

