The Century Mark

Found this interesting little site.  100 word stories.  One hundred words, on the mark.  No more, no less.  It looks like they post a photo once a month as a prompt, which produce stories of variable quality.

At the same time, I've considered writing some of my own 100-word stories.  Whether reading or writing, it's perfect for the minimal-attention-span creature I've become.  It's harder than I thought it would be, to squeeze a story into such a short space.  I managed it; the two responses I got were "Good but violent," and "Why does everything you write involve violence to women?"  I thought I had killed off a lot of men, too, in my writing but maybe not.  Maybe I am just prone to darkness.

Anyway, give it a shot.  It's a worthy exercise.

Leave a Reply

