Daily Update #3

Okay, with nothing else to discuss, here is my current update:

– I finished writing a story yesterday called "The King of Belmer" for a specific anthology.  This one gave me fits but I think it is workable now.  The plot is somewhat predictable but I hope the prose and characterization will carry it.  Once I get it revised, off it goes.  Keep your fingers crossed, ’cause if they don’t want it, it will be a hard sell elsewhere.

– I finished writing a story called "The Farmer of Devanda," about a retired official who just wants to be left alone.  Of course, it never works out that way.  Nearly four thousand words and I cranked it out in just a few hours.  I think it’s good but I’ll digest if for a bit, revise, and post for some reviews sometime this week. 

– I also have a germ of an idea for a craftsman who makes a Faustian deal with a shadowy figure.  That’s my next project.

– I worked a bit on Sheyla outlines, fleshing out the next story.  I really, really need to get back to rewriting the earlier tales.  I re-did the first one (The Wolves of Borra Shael) last summer and it was infinitely better in terms of pacing, prose, and consistent character behavior.  It’s out for consideration.

– I submitted a couple more stories, including one called, "A Bird in the Hand," which I sent to Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine.  I really like their magazine and this would be try number … five, I think.  I had one story make it all the way through their slush process but it stagnated in the editor selection pile and eventually came back to me.  I’ll keep trying, ’cause they put out some fun stuff.

– Another submission went to New Myths e-zine, where Victory Crayne is an assistant editor (Victory, please forgive me if that’s the wrong title).  Victory wrote an absolutely awesome guide for critiquing spec fiction, which you can see here.  It’s what I use when I write a critique for my peers – and gives me some things to consider in my own work.  So whether NewMyths accepts my work or not, I’ll always be grateful to her for having that guide out there.  (I don’t know Ms. Crayne, but I tend to be pretty informal, so many apologies to Victory if she reading this and feels I am too forward in referring to her by first name.)

More to follow … maybe I’ll have a sale to report next time.  (Yeah and pigs might fly out – well, you know the rest.)

Leave a Reply

